How I Missed Gaming

02 Mar, 2023

For as long as I can remember, I have played video games. Growing up I had some form of Nintendo device: GameBoy Pocket, GameBoy Color, GameBoy Advanced SP, GameCube, and finally Wii.

I can recount the number of endless hours solving puzzles, going on quests, advancing to the next level. Favorite games from Zelda: Links Awakening, Tetris, Need for Speed, and Pokémon. There's something about gaming that is good for your mind. You get to solve problems and enjoy a good story.

Recently our oldest decided she liked playing Super Smash Brothers and then the Wii gave out. I was able to find an emulator to play around with and some hardware to hook up the GameCube controllers and play on a computer. This was fun while it lasted, but there's some newer games out too.

Fast forward and we got a Nintendo Switch for the family. Of course had to get Mario Kart 8, and Sports. I love the flexibility the Switch has for the handheld, table, and docked mode. Brings the best of both worlds and makes playing games fun again.

Zelda: Breath of the Wild on Nintendo Switch

The game that brought me back more was The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. I know I'm late to the party, but it was on a super sale the other weekend and haven't put it down since.

Gaming brings the whole family together for the night with fun and laughter too. Racing down rainbow road or cooking up meals without Overcooking the meals, the fun never ends.

What games do you enjoy playing? Try something new and have some fun!

Zelda: Breath of the Wild on Nintendo Switch


I'm publishing this as part of 100 Days To Offload. You can join in yourself by visiting 100DaysToOffload.com.

Tags: gaming, 100DaysToOffload

Webmentions

If there are replies, they will show below.

3 Likes

1 Reply

~/hyde ~/hyde
@cjerrington Ex colleagues offered me a Switch, but I dont really play. I have Zelda, Marios, and other games. It's nice to see my kid playing with it though.


Found an issue? Edit on Github

← Back home